tressiemc

some of us are brave

Redux: If The Private Sector Wants a Perfect Employee, It Should Train One

The NY Times has a great article today, “Skills Don’t Pay the Bills” by Adam Davidson. It is a relief for me. Sometimes I feel like I’m screaming into the wind when I categorically refute the idea that more degrees equal more and better jobs.

The article reminded me of a similar piece I blogged here months ago. The blog post was commissioned by my twitter friend Douglas Edwards after I went on one of my (in)famous twitter rants about credentialing. He said I should write it so he could cite it in his mega annotated online bibliography project. I thank him for the nudge.

Onward and upward.

tressiemc

There are a few narratives floating around in the atmosphere these days about labor, training, and credentials. There’s the one that says we have serious skills mismatch in our economy. The solution, this narrative says, is to quickly “retool” the “labor force” for specific job functions. The other narrative says that public colleges have failed to produce employable graduates. This narrative gives us the useless liberal arts refrain and touts STEM careers of the future while bemoaning the lack of math and science acumen of today’s worker. This narrative gives us the ever popular “there are tons of XYZ jobs and no Americans to fill them!”

If you haven’t guessed I think these narratives are off-target, and that’s putting it kindly.

Inherent in the aforementioned lines of argument is this fallacy: that there are enough jobs for people who want them and are qualified for them.

Nothing could be further…

View original post 1,133 more words

Talk back...

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2012 by in Essays, Uncategorized and tagged .
