tressiemc

some of us are brave

On Writing and Teaching and Going Viral

It has been a big week.

Thank you to everyone who read and shared my thoughts on status, poverty, and culture. As with my thoughts on gender, race, and Miley Cyrus, I thought the piece a narrow meditation with very limited readership potential. Just goes to show that I do not have much of an ear for the market. I can live with that.

As readership increases so does reader response. I would really like to thank all the people who sought me out across multiple platforms to talk about their experience of poverty and modeling respectability for mobility. I continue to try to respond to all the direct mail. Across race and gender, there are a lot of similarities. I could have shared stories from my bilingual friends who, as children barely old enough to ride the school bus, were  translating big adult issues for their non-English speaking parents. They learned early on how to perform respectable adult through language, tone, and dress. I could talk about the white girlfriend I once had who could not watch a certain hit TV show because she couldn’t see anything funny about living in a trailer as she had growing up. Perfecting her performance of not-poor had been difficult and she did not need a primetime television reminder that was played for jokes.

I also want to thank the readers who made a point of telling me how they had to re-think something they thought they understood. There is nothing comfortable about confronting our own assumptions. That is why people resist doing it so mightily. When this happens with students I feel like I’m fulfilling the formal education bargain. When it happens with readers I have never met and who did not sign up for Transformation(tm) it speaks as much to your willingness to challenge yourself as it does anything I wrote.

Writer and teacher are two of my primary identities. There is significant overlap. In fact, I think the only real point of deviation is that for one I am required to wear pants. I approach the activities of both pretty similarly. It is nice when readers do, too.

I will be joining HuffPo Live tomorrow to talk a bit about status and mobility. Noon EST, which is Early PST. I make no promises about lucidity. Maybe some of you can join in.

Thank you for reading and sharing and teaching.

Talk back...

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
